Coiste Acht na dTeangacha Oifigiúla

Under the terms of DIT's Official Languges Act Scheme, an Official Languages Act Committee for DIT has been formed.

The commmittee meets at least twice a year and receives Monitoring Reports from various staff members responsible for implementing commitments given under the scheme in their area.

These monitoring reports are collated into one report which is then presented to Governing body and to An Coimisinéir Teanga/The Language Commissioner at the end of each year of the scheme.


Terms of Reference for DIT’s Official Languages Act Committee.

  1. Adopt DIT’s Official Languages Act 3 year scheme and co-ordinate the approach to the implementation of the scheme.
  2. Evaluate and review the implementation of DIT’s Official Languages Act Scheme and Regulations and Direct Duties of the Official Languages Act.
  3. Meet and review progress at least every six months on the implementation of DIT’s Official Languages Act Scheme; Official Languages Act Regulations and Direct Duties.
  4. Advise departments and schools participating in DIT’s Scheme on measures to implement the scheme, if necessary.
  5. Provide guidance to Oifig na Gaeilge and other DIT departments providing support to all schools and departments participating in DIT’s first Official Languages Act Scheme.
  6. Report yearly to DIT’s Governing Body and to Oifig an Choimisinéara Teanga on the progress of the scheme.
  7. Recommend the development of bilingual service provision across further departments and schools in DIT for the next Official Languages Act Scheme.


Committee Membership:

  • A member of DIT's Governing Body
  • A member of DIT's Senior Leadership Team
  • A member of the Presidents Office
  • A member of the Student Body
  • A member of DITSU
  • College Administrator
  • Academic Staff Member
  • Member of HR/Staff Training and Development
  • A member of the Buildings Office
  • A member of Information Services
  • A member of DIT Library Services
  • A member of Oifig na Gaeilge



Back to Top