World Unversiade Games Team Ireland Announcement

The Official Announcement of Team Ireland for the 2017 World University Games took place on 24th July 2017 in Irish Sport HQ. Special guests at the launch were CEO of Sport Ireland John Treacy, Representative of the Government of Taiwan Simon S.K. Tu, Head of Delegation for the Games Neasa Fahy O’Donnell, SSI Honorary Chairperson Carmel Lynch, and members of the team travelling.

Embracing the International University Sports Federation (FISU’s) motto of ‘Excellence in Mind and Body’, over 10,000 athletes will come together in Taipei, Taiwan to compete in some 300 medal events, across 21 sports at the 29th World University Games, 19-30 August 2017 and Student Sport
Ireland (SSI) is delighted to announce the Team representing Ireland in Taipei who will compete with student athletes from all over the world in a true spirit of friendship and sportsmanship.

The Irish Delegation and competitors are set to depart for Taipei from 8th August. The Irish Delegation at the 2017 Games will consist of 64 athletes and 27 team officials and is supported by third level colleges and universities, the relevant National Governing Sports Bodies and Sport Ireland. A
complete listing of the Team Ireland Delegation, both athletes and officials is attached

Dublin Institute of Technology will be represented at the Games by Joe Doyle in Men's Soccer. Joe has been in excellent form this season for Cabinteely FC in the SSE Airtricity First Division with 6 goals to his name so far. Joining Joe in Taipei will be DIT Sports Officer (Elite Sport) Niamh O'Callaghan who will be taking up the role of Deputy Head of Delegation for the duration of the games. 

Updates on the Irish athletes participation in the Games will be found on our Twitter and Facebook pages.

Team Ireland 2017.

Seven of Team Ireland Athletes Attending the Announcement of the 2017 World University Games; Shona Heaslip, Jack Ffrench, Sarah Lavin, Shane Dunne, Rebekah Carroll, Daire O’Connor, and Eleanor Ryan Doyle. ©INPHO/Tommy Dickson.