CFAI Colleges and Universities Caps Presentation

Tue, 03 Jul 2018 14:56:00 IST


DIT Soccer Club had 2 players from their 2018 CFAI Perpetual Cup winning side receive Caps at the second ever International Cap presentation at the Aviva Stadium. 

Goalkeeper Lee Steacy and Midfielder Darragh Noone were among 29 players who received their caps in a ceremony attended by FAI CEO John Delaney, who said "It’s always a great honour for players to represent their country and receive an international cap. Third Level Football is a very important area for the Association as we continue to encourage young players to combine education and football pursuits." 

Lee, who has played for Bray Wanderers and is now with Shelbourne and who also represented DIT GAA in Sigerson Cup competition, was vital in DIT winning the CFAI Rustlers Perpetual Cup in Eamon Deacy Park in March 2018 with a last minute point blank save while Darragh, who has been with Bray Wanderers since 2016, was Man of the Match in the same game. 


Manager Gavin Fleming said he was "delighted for the two lads, they were brilliant players both on and off the pitch last year. I wish we still had them in DIT but hope that they both kick on in the future as footballers." 


Colleges and Universities 2017-2018 Squad

Goalkeepers: Matthew Connor (Waterford IT), Lee Steacy (Dublin IT), Cathal O’Hanlon (UCC)

Defenders: Maurice Nugent (NUI Galway), Ross Taheny (DCU), Sean O’Mahony (UCC), Tristan Noack-Hofmann (DCU), Conor Kane (Maynooth University), Shane Elworthy (IT Blanchardstown), Darragh Gibbons (Maynooth University), Conor Keeley (Griffith College Dublin), Liam Scales (UCD)

Midfielders: Jamie Hollywood (IT Blanchardstown), Jason McClelland (UCD), Shane Daly-Butz (UCC), Georgie Poynton (Dundalk IT), Conor Barry (NUI Galway), Jonny Bonner (IT Carlow), Anthony McAlavey (IT Carlow), Darragh Noone (Dublin IT), Adrian Delap (Letterkenny IT) Pierce Phillips (UCC), Carlton Ubaezuonu (Dundalk IT), Daniel O’Connell (Cork IT)

Forwards: Alan O’Sullivan (DCU), Daire O’Connor (UCD), Georgie Kelly (UCD), Jack O’Keefe (Dundalk IT), Shane Barnes (IT Carlow)