Widening Participation Committee

Terms of Reference

The Widening Participation Committee was established in September 2015 with the following terms of reference:

  1. To support the development, implementation and review of DIT Widening Participation Strategic Objectives and plans. 
  2. To review and develop all equal access and widening participation related policies throughout DIT. 
  3. To agree, monitor and analyse performance of the DIT Widening Participation Policies 
  4. To support the activation and completion of annual implementation 
  5. To support the legal compliance of policies and to support compliance of practice 
  6. To support the implementation and review of the DIT Equal Access Funding Agreement 
  7. To generate and review statistical information concerning access equality, diversity and widening participation within college, including complaints data 
  8. To monitor inclusion and participation across the full student cycle 
  9. To recommend staff development activities for schools colleges and support service 
  10. To support interventions to address any achievement gaps amongst different groups of learners


The membership of the Widening Participation Committee is as follows:

  1. Ciarán O'Leary, Chair, Head of Learning Development
  2. Sheila Flanagan, College Representative, College of Arts and Tourism
  3. Sharon Feeney, College Representative, College of Business
  4. Eddie Conlon, College Representative, College of Engineering and Built Environment
  5. Colm Downes, Institute of Technology, Tallaght
  6. Julie Dunne, College Representative, College of Sciences and Health
  7. Frank Costello, Head of Enrolment Planning and Admissions
  8. Julie Bernard, Manager of Access and Civic Engagement
  9. Grainne Burke, Access Officer
  10. Margaret Whelan, Head of Strategic Development Services
  11. TBC, Student Retention Officer
  12. Jen Harvey, Head of Learning, Teaching and Technology Centre
  13. Bob Ó Murchú, Head of Disability Support Service
  14. TBC, Disability Service
  15. Catherine Bates, Access and Civic Engagement
  16. Edel Kearney, Access and Civic Engagement
  17. Bronagh Elliott, IT Blanchardstown Access Office
  18. Adrienne Harding, IT Tallaght Access Office
  19. TBC, Mature Student Support
  20. Mark Russell, Admissions Office
  21. June Phelan, Representative from College Managers
  22. Jennifer Farrell, Head of Student Administration
  23. David Kirk, Representative of Corporate Partnerships
  24. Melda Slattery, Representative of Public Affairs Office
  25. Dominic Dillane, Head of School of Hospitality Management and Tourism
  26. Bobby Maher, Access Foundation Programme
  27. David Rickard, Access Foundation Programme
  28. Riona Fitzgerald, Access and Civic Engagement


Meeting dates for 2015-16 are as follows:

  • Meeting 1: Wednesday, 23rd September 2015, 10am, Grangegorman
  • Meeting 2: Wednesday, 28th October 2015, 10am, Grangegorman
  • Meeting 3: Wednesday, 2nd December 2015, 10am, Grangegorman
  • Meeting 4: Wednesday, 10th February 2016, 10am, Grangegorman
  • Meeting 5: Wednesday, 6th April 2016, 10am, Grangegorman
  • Meeting 6: Wednesday, 1st June 2016, 10am, Grangegorman


The Committee can be contacted at w.participation@dit.ie.

Back to Top

  • Prospective Students
  • International Students
  • Incoming Students
  • Current Students
  • Staff
  • Alumni
  • Business & Entrepreneurs
  • Donors
  • Media

  • Connect with DIT

    Home/Contact/Sitemap/A-Z/Help/Cookie & Privacy Statement/

    Member of the European University Association
    © 1998, Dublin Institute of Technology