Civil and Structural Engineering Laboratories

There are three main laboratories in the Department of Civil and Structural Engineering.

  1. The Soil Mechanics Laboratory
  2. The Concrete Testing Laboratory and
  3. The Structural Analysis Laboratory

Each of these laboratories are equipped with up to date testing facilities covering a wide range of experiments across the British Standards. Increasingly the laboratories are also capable of carrying out certain tests to comply with the Eurocodes.


The laboratories provides facilities for the following courses:

Civil Engineering BE Level 8 DT027

Structural Engineering BE Level 8 DT024

Civil Engineering BEngTech Level 7 DT004

Civil Engineering BEngTech Level 7 P/T DT032


The facilities and equipment available for the different laboratories can be viewed by clicking on the images below: