This site uses a number of third party cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy


Professor Brian Norton, President of DIT, appointed to leading European energy panel

Posted: 4 October, 2018

Professor Brian Norton, President, DIT, has been appointed to the Energy Steering Panel for the European Academies’ Science Advisory Council (EASAC), a leading European council that provides independent scientific advice to EU energy and climate policy makers.

Professor Brian Norton Headshot

Founded in 2001, EASAC is the collective voice of the National Academies of Science of the EU member states, Norway and Switzerland. The Council provides detailed analysis and recommendations from some of Europe’s most respected scientists on a wide range of energy issues of priority to the EU, including energy resources, energy systems integration, renewable energies, energy efficiency, GHG emissions, electricity grid management, and energy security and sustainability.

Professor Norton’s appointment to EASAC is supported by the Royal Irish Academy. Welcoming the appointment, Peter McHugh MRIA, Policy and International Relations Secretary at the Royal Irish Academy and Professor of Biomedical Engineering at NUI Galway, says, “The Royal Irish Academy is delighted to support Professor Brian Norton’s nomination to the EASAC Energy Steering Panel. As a founding member of EASAC, we pride ourselves on applying scientific knowledge and expertise to policy issues, so it is our great pleasure to have Professor Norton represent us on this panel. Professor Norton has been, and will continue to be, an excellent ambassador and representative for us and we are honoured to avail of his expertise.”

Professor Brian Norton MRIA is an internationally renowned academic and author, principally in the field of solar energy. He has authored numerous books and research papers, which have been cited extensively. He is a member of the Royal Irish Academy and Fellow of the Irish Academy of Engineering.

Professor Norton is a Fellow of the Energy Institute, Engineers Ireland, the UK Higher Education Academy and an Honorary Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE). He is an Honorary Professor at University of Ulster, Harbin Institute of Technology and Begin Wazi in China, and University of Houston, USA.

Professor Norton participates actively in a range of industry bodies, including; Chair of “Action Renewables”, responsible for facilitating renewable energy development in Northern Ireland; and Vice-President of the European Sustainable Energy Innovation Alliance. He is also elected to the Council of Dublin Chamber of Commerce. Among his honours are the CIBSE Napier Shaw Medal and the Energy Institute Roscoe.

As President of DIT, Professor Norton has led the organisation through a period of significant growth, including the development of the DIT Grangegorman campus and successful joint application, with Institutes of Technology Tallaght and Blanchardstown, for designation as Ireland’s first Technological University.  

Professor Patrick Goodman, DIT School of Physics and Clinical & Optometric Sciences, has also recently been re-appointed to represent the Royal Irish Academy on the EASAC Working Group for Climate Change and Health.