To support your privacy rights we have updated our Privacy Statement and Cookie Policy to describe our use and sharing of cookies with our social media, advertising & analytics partners. We recommend that you review the privacy statement here, and follow the instructions to modify your cookie settings to suit your privacy preferences. Continued use of our site confirms your choice to accept our privacy statement & cookie policy and confirms your agreement to the processing of your personal data in line with our policy and your preferences. Read Cookie Policy.


TU Dublin win four Student Media Awards 2019

Posted: 15 April, 2019

TU Dublin media students were recognised for their contribution to student journalism taking home four awards at the National Student Media Awards 2019.

Stars of student journalism and Irish media were both in attendance at the 19th annual Student Media Awards last night. The ceremony took place at The Aviva Stadium and was presided over by comedian Alison Spittle, who played the role of MC for the evening. The four winning TU Dublin entrants were Jessica Spencer who won the Radio Production Of The Year (Arts & Features) category, Jessica Ní Mháirtín for Irish language Journalist of the Year, Jessie Melia for Radio Documentary of the year and TU Dublin – City Campus also received an award for its Fresher’s Magazine. 

Speaking about the awards, Ciara Mahon from Oxygen said ‘We’re absolutely delighted with both the number and calibre of entries this year. This is our 19th year running the awards, and they just keep growing from strength to strength. We hope the nominees and winners had a fantastic night, and we’re excited already for the 20th anniversary ‘platinum’ Smedias in 2020!’

There are 34 categories in the Smedias, and each category is shortlisted and then judged by professionals from the relevant field. Judges and presenters from this year’s awards include Academy Award-winning director Ben Cleary; TV presenter Mairead Ronan, and the reigning Rose of Tralee, Kirsten Mate Maher.